Body
This article reviews permission levels within a Microsoft file and demonstrates how to remove access from a file.
Permission Levels in Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint




Removing Access from a File
If you no longer want to share a file with someone, there are two ways we suggest removing access from that person.
The first is through the Documents Library in SharePoint or OneDrive:
-
Open your OneDrive or SharePoint Documents tab.
-
Locate the file and click the check mark next to the file’s name.

-
In the ribbon above the files, click “Share”.

-
In the pop-up window, in the bottom-left corner, click the circle or line of circles.

-
In the new window, you will see a list of people the file has been shared with.

-
Click the user’s name you want to remove access from.
-
In the new window, click “Direct Access: can view”.

-
In the drop-down menu, click “No direct access” to remove access from that user to this file.
a. You can also change permissions here as needed. Permission levels will be explained below.

-
Click “Apply”.

The second way is through the file:
-
Open your Word, Excel, or PowerPoint file.
-
In the top-right corner, click “Share”.
Note: Word's button is blue, PowerPoint's button is red-orange, Excel's button is green.

-
From the drop-down menu, click “Manage access”.

-
In the new window, you will see a list of people the file has been shared with.

-
Click the user’s name you want to remove access from.
-
In the new window, click “Direct Access: can view”.

-
In the drop-down menu, click “No direct access” to remove access from that user to this file.
a. You can also change permissions here as needed. Permission levels will be explained below.

-
Click “Apply”.

If you are wanting to remove everyone's access from a file:
-
Open your OneDrive or SharePoint Documents tab.
-
Locate the file and click the check mark next to the file’s name.

-
In the ribbon above the files, click “Share”.

-
In the pop-up window, in the bottom-left corner, click the line of circles.

-
In the new window, you will see a list of people the file has been shared with.
-
Just under “Manage access”, there is a “Stop sharing” button.
Note: If you click this, you will remove access from everyone with the file’s link.
* In SharePoint, only the SharePoint site’s owners and administrators will have access. Members and Visitors will no longer have access.
* In OneDrive, it will remove everyone except the owner/creator of the file.
* Use this sparingly.